Competition: WIN The Hotel Chocolat Taste: Everything Collection

Advertisement

Swing Into Christmas with Down for the Count Orchestra

  1. Home
  2. UK
  3. News
  4. Swing Into Christmas with Down for the Count Orchestra

A joyful festive celebration from the UK’s hardest swinging orchestra

Celebrate the festive season in style with the vocalists and instrumentalists of the Down for the Count Orchestra, as they Swing Into Christmas!

This is a Christmas celebration like no other, as Down for the Count recreate the music of Nat ‘King’ Cole, Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Sinatra and many more in a luscious 28-piece orchestral setting evoking the sounds of the great Capitol Studios recordings. 

Expect to hear faithful recreations of the best music of the swing era including I’ve Got You Under My Skin, Let’s Face The Music and Dance and ‘S Wonderful, alongside original arrangements of jazz and festive standards written by the Orchestra’s principal conductor Mike Paul-Smith, including Winter Wonderland and The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting).

This 28-piece ensemble, as seen at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club and The London Jazz Festival, present a show full of humour, joie de vivre and fantastic musicianship, which is guaranteed to put a smile on your face this Christmas.

“A sonic ride back to the sounds of Capitol Studios in the 1950s” - DownBeat Magazine

“A potential rival to the John Wilson Orchestra” - Jazzwise Magazine

“A breath of fresh air on the swing scene” - Twinwood Festival

Events and ticket links all listed at www.swingintochristmas.co.uk

  • Sun 20 Nov - EASTBOURNE ~ Royal Hippodrome
  • Sat 26 Nov - CANTERBURY ~ Colyer-Fergusson Hall
  • Wed 7 Dec - BATH ~ The Forum
  • Thu 8 Dec - NORWICH ~ The Halls
  • Fri 9 Dec - CAMBRIDGE ~ West Road Concert Hall
  • Sat 10 Dec - SOUTHAMPTON ~ Turner Sims
  • Sun 11 Dec - BIRMINGHAM ~ Royal Conservatoire
  • Tues 13 Dec - CHELTENHAM ~ Town Hall
  • Wed 14 Dec - OXFORD ~ Olivier Hall (St. Edward’s School)
  • Sun 18 Dec - LIVERPOOL ~ St. George’s Hall
  • Mon 19 Dec - HUDDERSFIELD ~ Lawrence Batley Theatre
  • Tue 20 Dec - ULVERSTON (The Lakes) ~ The Coro
  • Wed 21 Dec - EDINBURGH ~ Queen’s Hall
  • Thu 22 Dec - MANCHESTER ~ The Stoller Hall
  • Wed 28 Dec - LONDON ~ Cadogan Hall

Advertisement
Advertisement